Great examples of this include St Andrews Church (1848), Balmoral (1851), The Old Watchhouse (1837), Carrick Inn (1833) and the Old Mill House (1867), where the picturesque Liffey River crosses the western end of the township.
For those with more modern tastes, the Tasmanian Copper & Metal Art Gallery is open daily and showcases a variety of impressive artworks to browse and buy, all handcrafted from metal. AGFEST - one of Australia's biggest agricultural field days - is held nearby Carrick over the first weekend in May each year.
Originally known as Lyttleton, the historic township of Carrick lies just 17 kilometres from Launceston on the Meander Valley Highway (B54).
Download the cycling podcast to learn more about Carrick and the surrounds: Carrick podcast